Words by C.M. Spooner

Review: The Promises She Keeps

Posted on: February 22, 2012

The Promises She Keeps
The Promises She Keeps by Erin Healy
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I have had this book for over about a year. It got lost amongst my books when I moved and so I currently found it I felt I should read and finish so I could give a long overdue review. So here we go.

The Promises She Keeps is a story about a 22 year old girl named Promise, she was born with Cystic Fibrosis, she longs to be a famous singer so that she doesn’t just fade away once she is gone. She decides to help out a student with an art piece, Zack, which ends with her death defying fall from a cliff. It causes a chain of events she never could have imagined. The incidents and months that follow help to show her that fame isn’t everything, and it’s not the only way to make an impact on the world. Only one woman can possibly put a wrench in her plans, Porta, an aging witch out to find her own immortality.

This book was hard to put down, even if it was frustrating at the beginning. Not a bad frustrating though. I felt that I didn’t know what was going, what the underling threat was. Then I reminded myself that Erin Healy has worked with the likes of Ted Dekker and I just needed to set aside trying to fit any of the story into a box.

This story would be great for teenagers and up to adults. It’s got a very uplifting message which I think is much needed in this day and age.

I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com http://BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

What I’m Reading…

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

2012 Reading Challenge

2012 Reading Challenge
Clarissa has read 6 books toward her goal of 50 books.
hide

I review for BookSneeze
February 2012
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
26272829  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

