Words by C.M. Spooner

Review: Incarceron

Posted on: January 17, 2011

Incarceron (Incarceron, #1)Incarceron by Catherine Fisher
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Where to start… I’ll try not to ramble to much.

I’ll start with I enjoyed this book, I mean really enjoyed it. I devoured it today basically and am itching to go back and read it again.

I read some of the reviews and see that some people didn’t like the third person and I know that I am no editor but I didn’t catch enough of the slips to make an issue for me. But then I don’t read books to critique and tear them apart for errors missed on the editing room floor. I read them to have a little escape from the world and to just enjoy a good story being told.

This book accomplishes that very well. Its a world very unlike our own in the fact that they have technologies past our own. They’ve had a great war that threw them into a scared unchanging set of Protocol. They threw the scum of their world into a prison in order to keep it away, basically thinking if they locked it away they could make it disappear. Of course this never works.

Another complaint I saw was that Catherine didn’t describe it enough. Ugh god forbid really, has our society lost all its imagination that you can’t fill in the blanks on your own?

The prison is constantly changing so I can see why she left a lot of the description out, imagine the thickness and boring details that she would have had to go into had she described every facet of the prison. It’s impossible. It had been created as a living breathing thing all on its own. It had become much grander than I believe even the creators had imagined.

Then the Outside was well painted I believe. They live with tight rigid laws and rules to uphold the Protocol and they do this only slipping when they can to use the technology they obviously had once advanced to.

I know some hated the characters but I loved them. Claudia was stubborn and bull headed, a perfect product of her parentage I say. And Finn was lost and had to protect himself, so of course he would be come what he was. At least he tried hard to not let everything completely consume him, and he searched for anything that would tell him who he was.

Altogether I enjoyed it, it was a different kind of story and felt fresh. Even if I could figure out what was kind of going on early on in the story, at least with Finn’s character, and I had suspected something off with the relationship between the Warden and Claudia, but I didn’t find out on that matter til much later in the book. And the whole of Incarceron was a surprise to me in the end.

I think that Catherine did a good job, and I look forward to reading the second book.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

What I’m Reading…

Twitter Updates

2012 Reading Challenge

2012 Reading Challenge
Clarissa has read 6 books toward her goal of 50 books.
hide

I review for BookSneeze
January 2011
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
